more running

post-run mel

I had a pretty good run tonight but I have to be honest with you, during the run I had two short walking breaks. As you can see, my pace and time are pretty fast but that’s due to the two breaks. The short amount of walking just gave me that little bit of rest I needed to push myself to go faster. I think it might be cheating. I try hard not to stop during my runs but I was pooped!

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 15:14
  • Max heart rate: 186 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 157 bpm
  • Pace: 5’03”

It does make me wonder how fast I would have been without stopping but I have to say that a pace of 5’03” is mind blowing. My heart rate didn’t get too high either which is great. The temperature was 18 °C so not cold but not hot. Manageable.

I found out today that my recent running slump is because of medical reasons. It explained a lot and I feel relieved to find out why my running has been so terrible. I hope once I get it sorted it out my running will improve and everything will go back to normal.

By running only 3 km everyday this week it will make it my easiest week since starting this challenge but I think it’s necessary while I’m feeling a bit sick. It’s important that I continue the challenge even if my overall kilometres are low for the week. I’m so proud of myself for not quitting and not giving up.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

