it was a night like any other…

post-run mel

Just like my post heading says, it was a night like any other when I started my run and somehow it turned into an epic 16 km adventure. There was something a little bit different about tonight: the temperature was cold! It was 14 °C and I was cold when I left home but it only took 10 minutes to warm up. I didn’t get sweaty which was nice for a change and rare for such a long run.

I didn’t intend on doing a long run but the all the conditions where perfect and I couldn’t resist. I took it very slow and made sure to go at a pace I could  talk comfortably at. I’ve been reading so many blogs that talk about long distance running and the importance of taking it slow. It prevents injury and your body learns how to be on it’s feet for a long period.

  • Distance: 16 km
  • Time: 1:53:00
  • Max heart rate: 198 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 177 bpm
  • Pace: 7’03”

I felt pretty slow going at this pace but after 10 km my legs were feeling it and I couldn’t imagine going any faster. By the end I felt like I was shuffling my legs across the ground rather than actually running! And the bottom of my feet were so sore and it made my toes go numb. I know that’s not good but I don’t know how to fix that problem and will do some research about it. Even now an hour after finishing the run my feet are hurting from the brutal pounding on the ground. But after all that I’m so happy I did such a long run and thankful God helped me get so far!

Happy running – Melissa

2 thoughts on “it was a night like any other…

  1. Good run Mel. Wise to take it slow. It was a beautiful night. I did 10.5km @6’47”. No knee problems. But I know what you mean by shuffle at the end. Bit stiff this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • woah!! That’s amazing, dad! 10.5 km at 6’47”!!! Unbeatable :D! This morning I was very very stiff but managed to go out for a run… had to drag myself a bit thought after last night. So glad your knee isn’t giving you trouble for your long runs :D!

      Like

Leave a Reply

