such a gorgeous night

post-run mel

What a gorgeous night for a great run. The conditions for this run were amazing at a cool 17 °C with not a cloud in the sky. I was able to see the stars as I ran. I’m feeling very blessed for my body’s ability to run and so thankful that God allows me to do this challenge with his help.

As you can see my pace and time were pretty good for a 8 km run. Instead of starting off slow and then pushing it towards the end I did the opposite. I don’t know if it was beneficial because it felt similar to my other runs but it was good to experiment.

  • Distance: 8 km
  • Time: 49:40
  • Max heart rate: 204 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 176 bpm
  • Pace: 6’12”

After my ‘rest’ day yesterday it felt like I hadn’t run for awhile even though I did technically run yesterday. Although running at midnight yesterday didn’t feel great at the time I believe it has given my body the rest it needed and I could definitely feel the benefits of it today. I’ve decided that when I can I will do the midnight run to give myself a bit of a break. So glad I did it to see what it would do for me.

Overall, loved running tonight and I feel encouraged to keep going. On a side note, tonight I reached 500 km for the year! Hooray!! Big achievement and so proud.

Happy running – Melissa.

Leave a Reply

