combined midnight run

So, my regular readers (I know you’re out there) are probably wondering why I didn’t write a post for yesterday. Did I even run? Well I did but I had this crazy plan that I don’t think went down heaps well. My plan was to do a 6 km run over midnight so that not only would I do a 3 km for yesterday but also get 3 km done for today all in one hit. It would allow me to feel like I’m having a ‘rest day’. I left the home at 11:40 pm and ran 3 km in just under 20 minutes. That made it 12:00 am so I was able to run 3 km home.

26/3/2017

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 19:12
  • Max heart rate: 203 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 181 bpm
  • Pace: 6’23”

27/3/2017

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 21:07
  • Max heart rate: 200 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 163 bpm
  • Pace: 7’12”

As you can see my first 3 km was a lot faster than the second 3 km but I had the time to take is easy on the way home. I had to take it easy because it was so hot! Can you believe it was still 32 °C at 12:00 am?! Not only was it so hot but there was this hot wind making this whole experience feel like I was running in 38 °C. It actually made me feel quite ill and at one point I had to stop and take a little rest because I thought I might pass out or throw up. Not great. And what’s funny is I ended up running at the hottest part of today because the temperature has dropped to 24 °C with rain.

I do feel relaxed knowing I don’t have to run for the rest of today. It has tricked me into thinking I have a day off and I’m sure my body will enjoy the rest. It was an interesting experience to see what it would be like to run over midnight and If the weather had been cooler I’m sure it would have been a lot easier.

Happy running – Melissa

One thought on “combined midnight run

Leave a Reply

