when the going gets tough

Two selfies tonight. First one is just before I left for my run looking all fresh and fine. Second one is post-run and I’m a little sweaty and worn out.

I felt it in my legs tonight and I wasn’t at my best. My plan was to do some tempo running but it didn’t really work out. I wanted to jog for 1.5 km to warm up, then run 10 minutes at marathon pace, next was 3 minutes of easy jogging and then repeat those 3 times. To warm down I was going to jog for 1.5 km again. My plan failed after running for 10 minutes at marathon pace. I gave up and just went back to normal slow running. My legs couldn’t go the distance I know exactly why. In order to improve my running I must take rest days so my muscles have time to rest and grow. I can feel the fatigue in my legs after 78 days of running but I can’t give up! I would be so disappointed in myself is I took a rest day, but what to do about improving my running? I’m thinking I need to have more days or running just 3 km at an easy pace to create some rest. Maybe 3 days in a row of easy running to give myself some rest. I will have to come up with a plan if I ever want to improve my running. I would like to eventually get to 21 km.

  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 35:40
  • Max heart rate: 203 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 175 bpm
  • Pace: 5’59”

Apart from the tired legs it was an ok run. A bit warm for my liking and I struggled in the hot breeze. Tomorrow is still going to be 34 °C so I’m expecting another warm run tomorrow night.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

