some hard hills

post-run tired mel

I was looking through some of my  previous posts and I realised that I haven’t done a hill run for quite a while. So, I decided today was the day I would conquer some hills. Unfortunately, I picked a pretty hot day for it. Again. I had to go out in the afternoon and it was 30°c with the sun beating down on me and a hot breeze. It was tough but I just thought to myself: “take it slow and get some hill running done.”

  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 38:05
  • Max heart rate: 198 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 172 bpm
  • Pace: 6’23”

When I got home I was totally wiped out. I had nothing left in the tank. The heat just drained and sucked all the energy from me. I had to take a little time to recover and I just hunched myself over the dinning table and breathed deeply. I sweated all over it too. I really pushed myself to finish the 6 km I went out to do and I’m happy I got through it. Another day down!

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

