a spring in my step

post-run Mel

Great run tonight. I felt like I had a spring in my step propelling me forward. The conditions were perfect tonight with a beautiful starry sky above. I’ve decided that 18°c is pretty much my ideal running temperature because it’s not hot or too cold – Goldilocks. My body copes really well with this temperature and I run at my best. Also, it helps running in the dark. Having no sun beating down on me is refreshing and my poor body doesn’t get so overheated. As you can see in my post-run selfie I still sweat like crazy. It looks like it was raining tonight but I assure you there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.

  • Distance: 7 km
  • Time: 42:35
  • Max heart rate: 202 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 189 bpm
  • Pace: 6’04”

My time and pace was awesome tonight and I’m so happy with my fitness. I’m thinking more and more that having a recovery week of running 3 km a day is really helpful. I might make it a monthly thing or play it by ear and do it when my body is tired and telling me to take it easy. I was feeling so fit tonight I was able to really push it in the last kilometre and sprint to the end.

The only problem I had tonight while running was the need to do a number 2. Sorry to bring it up and I won’t dwell on it but it was an issue  and can be a problem as other runners will know. By golly, I wasn’t going to let anything stop me from finishing the 7 km that I had planned. As I was running I was thinking about a back up plan: to run till I really couldn’t hold it in any more and then to call my DH to come pick me up and rescue me. I’m happy to report that wasn’t needed and I got home on my own.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

