long run home

post-run mel

God has created an amazing body for us to have and use! I can’t believe how far you can push the body’s endurance. After 4 days of 3 km runs, I completed 16 kilometres today. I’m so proud and I’m so thankful to God for such an incredible experience. He is so faithful because every time I feel discouraged with my running challenge he continually puts me back on track by blessing me with a great run.

  • Distance: 16 km
  • Time: 1:45:38
  • Max heart rate: 195 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 182 bpm
  • Pace: 6’35”

After the 4 km mark I was feeling great and I knew then that I would run the 16 km. I didn’t inform my DH before I left that I was planning on such a long run because I didn’t know I was going to do it. I was hoping at some stage he would call me to check in so he wouldn’t worry. It was getting late and soon enough he did. At the 9 km mark he called and we had a little chat while I continued running about how great I was feeling and I was going to go all the way. After tonight’s run I think that maybe doing some short 3 km runs in a row isn’t such a silly idea. My body felt so refreshed and full on energy. I kept a good conversational pace throughout the whole run and I think that really helped me go the distance.

The conditions were pretty good. It wasn’t hot like it has been the last few nights and there was a strong wind which cooled me down throughout. When I say strong wind I mean strong! I really wish I put my hair up properly because there were times I couldn’t see with it blowing all over my face. At one point I ran under some trees and a branch actually fell on my head and pulled my pony tail. Scared me so much!

Feeling so blessed and pumped! I’m so thankful to the Lord and can’t wait to do another long run next week.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

