speedy

Post-run Mel

So, the heat wave in Adelaide has began which means sweaty hot runs for me. I went for my run late tonight hoping it would cool off. Left home at 9:30 pm and it was still 27°c! I think it just a taste of the week to come.

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 17:01
  • Max heart rate: 204 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 175 bpm
  • Pace: 5’35”

I was fast tonight and it felt great. I think this is my fastest 3 km ever. My DH walked ahead of me and I loved giving him a high 5 as I ran past. I didn’t feel tired or out of breath so overall it was a positive experience.

I’ve decided  I will only run 3 km everyday this week except for Friday where I will still do my usual long run. I’m doing this as a bit of an experiment. I want to see if my body benefits from doing less kilometres and see if it helps my runs next week. My body needs a rest and I think having a week of doing the minimum will do me good and hopefully won’t harm my fitness. That is my main worry; I would hate to loose the fitness I have gained but I don’t think I will.  It does feel strange only running 3 km. I’m sure I will have a day this week where I reach 3 km and decide to continue running. 3 km feels like nothing now. It’s funny, when I first started running, 3 km felt very far but now it’s just a 17 minute warm up and I’m not really out of breath. It’s awesome to see my body build up and adapt to physical challenges.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

