fast and furious

Post-run Mel

I was fast tonight but not furious, it just makes a great title. Tonight I ran my fastest 5 km ever. Feeling pretty happy with that after such a slow week. I’m just baffled though, I’ve had two great runs after like 4 bad ones. I wonder what has changed. Maybe it’s just my hormones. Maybe it’s because I ran those 2 good runs at night and I always run better at night. I’m pretty sure it’s God’s goodness getting me through and continuing to encourage me with this journey. I feel invigorated and ready to tackle another week of running.

  • Distance: 5 km
  • Time: 27:56
  • Max heart rate: 197 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 174 bpm
  • Pace: 5’34”

It felt great tonight to just run as fast as I could. I’ve had some of my slowest runs this week so it felt right to belt out a fast one. Can you believe my fastest kilometre was number 5? I can, I really pushed it! I did 3 km in 17:05 which I think could be my fastest 3 km ever run too. I’m just breaking records all over the place this week!

The weather was amazing tonight and any runner would have been happy with the conditions. It definitely makes a huge difference when running. When it’s cool you feel like you have so much energy. I can’t wait for winter.

Happy running -Melissa

Leave a Reply

