my longest run ever!

Post-run Mel

What a terrific night of running! I definitely give all thanks to God for it because I know it is He who gives me my legs and lungs and the ability to go the distance. After such a terrible week of running I can’t believe my body managed to make the whole 13 km. God is good! He also blessed me with beautiful running conditions. I did a night run tonight and left home at 8:30pm. It was cool with a bit of a breeze. Perfect running conditions.

  • Distance: 13 km
  • Time: 1:24:11
  • Max heart rate: 195 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 183 bpm
  • Pace: 6’27”

I tried running smart tonight. I knew I had a long way to run so my plan was to find a comfortable pace and to stick with it the whole run. Let me tell you, I did! I can honestly say I stayed at 6’27” for the entire run and it is definitely what got me through. The last 2 km were the hardest trying to keep that pace because not only was I tired but I was also on an incline. I felt the burn!

The other thing that helped was resting the whole day. I did a run yesterday morning which gave me more than 24 hours to rest. I only did around 2000 steps during the day. I’m sure having that time to recover helped a lot with my energy tonight. I didn’t feel tired till around the 10 km mark.

Notice my new running gear? Big shoutout to my generous sister Kylie! She gifted me with these floral designed tights, sports bra and grey top. I love them. They totally helped me run the distance tonight, haha!

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

