gone (running) with the wind

 

Post-run Mel

Today was brutal and I reckon the hardest 6 km I’ve ever run. I left the house at 9:30 am thinking I would beat the heat but now I know that was in fact the hottest time of the day. It was 30°c and I was melting. So it was hot and I was running with still a bit of a headache. My legs felt like cement and my lungs felt like tiny peas. I wanted to do 7 km but I honestly didn’t have it in me. I was beat. My run was already slow and I thought that would mean I could go further but not today. It was long and hard.

  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 38:40
  • Max heart rate: 196 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 168 bpm
  • Pace: 6’29”

Adelaide is forecast for some crazy winds today and I got a taste of it this morning. Lucky I decided to wear my sun glasses. It protected me from not only the sun but the dirt, pine needles and whatever else the wind wanted to blow into my face. I was so sweaty and it made all the dirt stick to my face. I must have been quite a site! My hair going all directions and my face and body covered in dirt. All part of the runner’s life!

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

