footpath etiquette

Bit of a slow run today. I have to give myself some grace though because not only was it hot but I’ve had a lingering headache. I went for my run at the hottest time of the day. I’m not able to run tonight so the afternoon was the only time to do it. Everything was against me but I still completed 5 km. Doesn’t matter that it was so slow, I did it!

  • Distance: 5 km
  • Time: 32:40
  • Max heart rate: 196 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 178 bpm
  • Pace: 6’30”

Even though it was hot it was still a beautiful day. Blue skies with not a cloud to be seen. I love the sunshine and it encourages me to keep running and enjoy the day God has blessed me with.

On my run I ran past three primary schools and unlucky for me it was pick up time. (Beware, I’m about to have a bit of a rant). Kids and their parents have no idea how to share the footpath! I almost knocked over a child who wouldn’t move just a little to the side and her mum didn’t even care I was coming. They take up the entire footpath and I have to dodge everyone by moving to the side off the footpath or running onto the road. I can understand young kids not moving but the older kids and the parents shock me. No consideration for others who also use the footpath. Ok, I’m done ranting 🙂

Happy running – Melissa

 

Leave a Reply

