just keep running

post-run Mel
Wow, I was so slow today. Honestly, it was a tough run this morning. I left the house at 7:40 am and it was 27 °C which made it a warm run. Because I went for a run last night, my legs didn’t have enough time to recover. Combined, it’s no surprise I struggled through 5 km.

  • Distance: 5 km
  • Time: 33:22
  • Max heart rate: 191 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 171 bpm
  • Pace: 6’39”

I’m proud I pushed on and did the 5 km. I just kept telling myself that it’s ok to be slow, just as long as I finish. For the first time in a long time I got a bit of a stitch and I know exactly why. I just wasn’t thinking about my breathing or running posture. All I could think about was how hard it was and how much I wanted to finish.

You’re always going to have bad runs but it’s what you learn from them that makes them count.

Today I learnt to: (1) have a proper amount of rest between runs, (2) check breathing and running posture early in a run and (3) to hydrate beforehand.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

