week six summary

starting line of victor harbor half marathon

6 weeks down and 46 to go. 42 days down and 322 to go.

I had a lot of high points this week and I’m finding it hard nailing down a highlight. On Sunday I had the 10 km race and that was pretty great. Didn’t run the sub-1h time that I was hoping for but it was still fun and a good learning experience. Thinking back to the race, I’ve decided there are a few things I would do differently:

Have a plan when going into a race and stick with it

I would stick with my running plan and not run with the pack at the beginning. Always run your own race. I was fine keeping up with them for 5 km but I burnt out after that.

Don’t reduce my running distances too much before the race

I cut right back to only running 3 and 4 km a day a week before. I didn’t feel more or less rested and I don’t think it helped my performance overall.

mel sweaty after Victor harbor half marathon 10 km

Another highlight for the week was reaching a total of 200 km and running for 24 hours this year. It’s exciting watching my kilometres tick over. It makes me feel like I have accomplished something. The same with my time it takes to run. I can’t believe I have run for more than 24 hours now. It’s taken me 5 and a bit weeks to do it but it’s still a massive accomplishment.

  • Distance for the week: 45 km
  • Time for the week: 4:44:16

week 6 running stats

I’m proud of the amount of kilometres I managed to run this week. Adelaide has had a heat wave so doing 45 km is pretty cool. It’s a new PB for me. See, breaking records all over the place this week! My pace has stayed the same and I’m not complaining. As long as I don’t get slower, staying the same is good.

Looking back, it really has been such an awesome week of running. Overall, I couldn’t be happier with my running and what I have achieved. Can’t wait to see how the next week goes!

Happy running – Melissa

2 thoughts on “week six summary

Leave a Reply

