8 km goal

Post-run Mel

My goal today was to do 8 km and I did it! It was slow but that’s totally fine because I did what I set out to do. I wanted to complete 8 km because it meant I would have done 45 km for the week and that’s a new record for me. Also, it’s part of my training regime.

I was slow because of the humidity. I have to say I’m looking forward to winter now more than ever. The heat wave in Adelaide is coming to an end with today being the last day hopefully. Tomorrow will be 24°c which will be so nice to run in compared to the week we have had.

  • Distance: 8 km
  • Time: 54:18
  • Max heart rate: 196 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 178 bpm
  • Pace: 6’45”

I left the house a little later than usual today because it’s Saturday and I wanted to sleep in. I left around 8 am, knowing I needed to get the run done quickly before it started heating up. One of the advantages of morning runs is that afterwards I can relax because it’s out of the road. I don’t have a run hanging over my head until night. I’m so glad I like morning running now. It didn’t take long to switch my routine around and I encourage anyone else who wants to go from running at night to morning to do it.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

