cold showers

Post-run Mel

Is there anything better than a cold shower? I don’t think so. Specially after working hard and getting all sweaty. I found it extra refreshing this morning and it washed away my troubles, until I remembered a problem I having at the moment. Anyway.

This morning I rolled over in bed to see my DH’s face in my face waking me up. He informed me it was only 24°c and I should get up and run because it’s was only going to get hotter. South Australia is having a crazy heat wave and it’s not great for running. I really didn’t want to get out of bed and run but after 10 minutes of procrastinating I knew he was right and I forced myself up and out of bed. 24°c is not bad for running in; what gets me is the humidity and I’m sure that is what causes me to sweat so much. My knees were even sweating today!

  • Distance: 5 km
  • Time: 34:26
  • Max heart rate: 189 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 167 bpm
  • Pace: 6’53

I wasn’t in the mood for running this morning but as I got going I got into it. I did a slow run because I woke up with a headache and of course because it’s hot. Today’s run has ruined my stats a bit but you need a slow run every now and then. I went up a big hill so that also slowed me down a bit. I was planning to only run 4 km when I left the house but because my pace was so slow I felt like continuing and did 5 km. I love running slowly, it’s very relaxing.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

