attacked by insects

sunrise

When I left home this morning and it was still dark and I could see the stars in the sky. It was still 27°c ; that’s as cool as it got last night. The internet said the coolest time of the day would be between 6 and 7 am, so that’s when I did my run. Normally 27°c is fine to run in, it’s the humidity I struggle with. It drains me and I feel like I have no energy to move my legs. I managed to press on and get 6 km done. Early runs are good because there are no cars on the roads and I get to see the sunrise just as I’m finishing. I couldn’t help but think as soon as the sun pops it’s head over the hill that Adelaide will go up in flames as it is set to be 42°c.

Post-run Mel

I got attacked by so many insects this morning. I’ve never had this happen to me before but I’ve never run this early before. It was like the plagues of Egypt but all bugs. Crickets were everywhere and they kept jumping and hitting me. The next plague was moths and this is a shout out to my sister-in-law Erin, who hates moths. It was like the moths were drunk and forgot how to fly. They were bumping into me all over the place. Last but not least I had a few spiders to dodge. I’m always running through spiderwebs and it worries me because I don’t want spiders crawling in my hair. But this morning I almost ran through the biggest spiderweb I’ve ever seen, not to mention the biggest spider too! The picture I took doesn’t show just how big it was or the massive web. Anyways, I was pretty lucky not to run through that one. I’m too young to die.

huge spider

  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 37:10
  • Max heart rate: 198 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 177 bpm
  • Pace: 6’12”

Bit of a slow run but that’s ok. Some days it’s ok to be a little slower, especially if it’s hot. I keep thinking when winter hits I’m going to be so fast after training in this heat.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

