recovery after the big race

My dad sent me a message this morning asking how my body was feeling after the 10 km race yesterday. I had to tell him my body was totally fine. No aches or pains. I think my body is getting used to running everyday so I don’t get sore legs or muscles anymore.

I needed a recovery run after yesterday (as all runners should do) so I decided to stick to 4 km and no more. It was an easy run and my pace was good. I went up some hills and down again feeling pretty good. My goal this week is to reach my 200 km milestone. After today’s small 4 km I’m looking forward to getting some higher kilometres done.

  • Distance: 4 km
  • Time: 23:27
  • Max heart rate: 196 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 170 bpm
  • Pace: 5’56”

I left my run until the afternoon because it’s been raining all morning. The temperature was nice today and perfect for running. A little windy but at least it was cool. From tomorrow onwards the summer heat ramps up again so I should enjoy it while it lasts. Wednesday is going to be 40°c which means I’m going to need to get up super early to beat the heat. It’s a good thing I like morning running now.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

