home run

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back home and running my usual neighbourhood again. Tomorrow is the big race so I made sure to take it real easy with my run today. Just a slow 3 km. I was going to wake up early and run so there would be a long recovery time before tomorrow’s race but I slept in. I’m disappointed I slept in because when I left the house at 9 am it was already hot.

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 20:10
  • Max heart rate: 188 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 165 bpm
  • Pace: 6’42”

The official title for the race is Victor Harbor Half Marathon. I’m entering the 10 km, maybe next year I can do the half marathon. The weather in Victor Habor looks terrible with rain and thunderstorms forecast for the morning. That’s the thing about running: the weather is no excuse. You can run in any condition. Can’t wait to see how it turns out. I hope I’m ready and I hope the adrenaline pushes me forward. After only doing short distances this week I’m finding it hard to remember what it’s like to go for 10 km. I know I can do it. I just have to trust that my body remembers. My sister will be doing the 5 km walk so at least I will have a buddy to be nervous with. Wish me luck!

Happy running – Melissa

 

2 thoughts on “home run

  1. I am so nervous… XD It’s weird.
    I walked 21km and I’m more nervous about 5km.
    Horrible weather conditions, but you’re right, jog and run in any weather.
    Today is hot isn’t it. I woke up not expecting it to be so icky.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

