in the sun

I was planning to go for a run tonight but things come up and you have to go along with it. My family decided to have an impromptu tea tonight meaning I had to go in the middle of the day while the sun is high in the sky. Today is only 28°C but the sun feels a lot warmer than that and it sapped all my energy. I wasn’t prepared because I haven’t run in the sun for a while. I guess it’s a good idea to keep running in all types of weather so I’m going to say it was good for me. It was a beautiful run with blue skies and people bustling about which I usually miss late at night. 
 
I did speed training today to try and improve before the big 10 km race next month. For 6 km I spent 1 minute sprinting then jogged for 3 minutes. I need to do more research into how to get faster because I’m not sure if that is the correct way to do it. 
 
  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 36:20
  • Max heart rate: 199 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 178 bpm
  • Pace: 6’01”
 
Even though I ran the 6 km in a normal time, I felt like I was slow with tired legs. I guess that’s what sprinting for a minute will do to you. I will let you know what I find out about training to get a faster time. 
 
Happy running – Melissa 

 

Leave a Reply

