humid 5 km – a pooh-pooh run

Tonight was by far the most humid run I have ever done. It was crazy! I could actually see the humidity in the air which made breathing a little harder. It’s nowhere near as bad as the Philippines or Thailand, but for Adelaide it’s pretty weird. Not ideal conditions for running (I seem to be saying that a lot) but there’s nothing you can do about it.

I came home soaked from sweat it was unbelievable. It wasn’t raining but I was drenched. Certainly made for an interesting run. As I was finishing up my eyes started stinging from sweat dripping into them and my headphones gave up. I couldn’t wipe the drops of sweat fast enough out of my ears for the headphones to work. I hope my pictures tonight can prove how wet I was. Tried to show all the wet patches on my super dry top that never gets wet like this.

  • Distance: 5 km
  • Time: 28:29
  • Max heart rate: 203 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 179 bpm
  • Pace: 5’41”

I was working on speed and I’m pretty happy with my pace and time. I’m surprised I did so well with the humidity as it was but I felt great. My legs felt like springs and were bouncing over the footpath. I wanted to go further than 5 km but I had a little problem. Warning! – I’m about to get real here. I had to stop running to walk because I felt like a little poo was coming. The whole run I could feel it sneaking out further and further but I tried to ignore it. Got to 5 km and I thought I might kaka my pants. Of course, as soon as I stopped and walked I didn’t need to go to the toilet anymore! As soon as I started running again it wanted to come out. I had to stop. It makes me laugh thinking about it, but it did mess up a pretty good run tonight!

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

