run streaks

I didn’t even know this was a thing but apparently run streaks are becoming extremely  popular! My DH (darling husband) asked me if I had read anything about run streaks and he opened my eyes to a world I didn’t even know I was a part of. I’ve been reading blog after blog about it. The more I read, the more excited I’m becoming about what I’m doing.

I find myself agreeing and relating to everything these run streak bloggers are saying. It’s good to know that other people are doing this, that I’m not crazy. I’m learning some tips and tricks about managing running everyday. Things I hadn’t had thought about before and I know will help my own running. Runner’s World has a great blog called the rise of the run streak. I encourage you to read it if you don’t know what a run streak is about.

Some of the streaks I’m seeing from people are ranging from 50 to 1050 days. Ron Hill has been running everyday since 1964 (what a legend). What I have found all these runners have in common is that they say the run streak gives them the motivation they need to run. It’s made them fall in love with running and it’s benefited their running more than taking a rest day would. Every runner is different. Some people really benefit from having a rest day a week, others find that it stops their progress. I think I’m definitely in the first category where having a rest day makes me lazy.

The best thing about a run streak is there are no rules, you can set your own parameters. You decide your minimum daily km’s or time and aim to use that only for rest days. Some people set 20 minutes as their minimal, while others might choose 2 km (3 km for me). Matt Fraizier from No Meat Athlete has written 59 Lessons Learned from a 50 Day Run Streak. Very helpful if you’re thinking about starting a streak.

After three weeks, I have found my love for running grow and I genuinely get excited about hitting the road. My energy levels are higher and I’m overall happier. I don’t get obsessed over my weight anymore because running everyday makes me feel good about myself.

Reading about streaks has made me pumped about my own streak. Who knows, by the end of the year I might look back over what I have accomplished and want to keep it going?

Happy running – Melissa

One thought on “run streaks

Leave a Reply

