hot and slow

Taken with Lumia Selfie

It was so hot tonight! Today got to 37° and tomorrow is set to be 39° so no doubt tonight was going to be a scorcher. I left home at 9:30 pm hoping I might escape some of the heat but I still copped it.  My legs are recovering from a strength training session as well so I thought a slow run would be perfect.

Actually, I felt like I could go 10 km! But it was getting late. I love slow runs because there is no pressure to beat the clock, I just get to run and think about life.

  • Distance: 8 km
  • Time: 56:30
  • Max heart rate: 189 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 173 bpm

No stars tonight because I kept to the main roads and they are all light up. Didn’t swallow any moths so that’s definitely a win. My husband asked me what was the best thing about my slow run and I think it would have to be the different smells I smelt. Pretty weird, but as I run past each house I can smell what they had for dinner. I can smell the flowers from people’s gardens and unfortunately…their rubbish as well. The bins are out for collection tomorrow. Just focus on the good smells like the food and flowers.

Leave a comment and let me know the best things about your runs.

Happy running – Melissa

2 thoughts on “hot and slow

  1. Yesterday was my ill-attempt at 6km. Might have made it if it wasn’t so HOT, and perhaps if I had thought about going later at night, which I think I’ll do tonight. Needless to say I only ended up with 5.5km and even more of a tan.
    Sounds like you had a lovely run. You’re very inspiring sis.

    Like

    • 5.5 km is awesome and no small feat!! Never ever say ‘I only did 5.5 km’ because any time on feet is great!! Walking is so good for the body and I encourage it. And remember you don’t need to increase your walking distance straight away. Build up to it weekly by doing 0.5 km to 1 km extra a week. It’s a slow process when trying to increase distance but you are nailing it!!
      Thanks for all your comments xxx keep walking!

      Like

Leave a Reply

