starry night

Taken with Lumia Selfie

The stars were out tonight and so was I. Went for a late run and I’m glad I did. It was a cool night and I got to enjoy some beautiful stars while running up hill. It’s nights like this I feel so blessed to be alive and able to run.

I had zero motivation for running because my legs were killing me (also, I was having a great hair day and seemed sad to get it all sweaty). I did some strength training yesterday with moves like sumo squats, step up knee raises and lunge front kicks. Unfortunately, since I’m a bit of a newbie with strength training, my legs were hurting today. I even found walking hard!  Means I need to do more of it and I plan to keep it up. I went running tonight thinking I would just do the 3 km but I found my legs warming up as I went and completed 6 km of hill running. Not going to lie, my legs are still really sore but feel better for running.

  • Distance: 6 km
  • Time: 37:12
  • Max heart rate: 197 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 170 bpm

I think I could have completed the run faster if it had not been dark. I had to be cautious and a little slower to make sure I didn’t trip over on the uneven footpaths. I’m lucky that the hills I usually run up have all new footpaths so if I run light on my feet I usually land fine.

As a side note, I lost sound in my right headphone from all the sweat. I was soaked and the run off from my head just seemed to make a pool in my ear.

Good start to the week and let’s hope I have better runs as the week progresses.

Happy running – Melissa

5 thoughts on “starry night

  1. That sounds so lovely. Running under the canopy of the night sky.
    I was just talking to Dad today about how I love walking/hiking because it brings you into nature.
    I’m thinking of heading down more to Hallet Cover/Brighton to do more walks along the beach now that I’m driving more and the evenings are so lovely, since hiking on my own wouldn’t be a great idea.

    Like

    • Yeah, that is one of the reasons I love running, getting our doors! Love nature so much. I totally encourage you to go and walk more at the beach and hallet cove. Great idea and great scenery!

      Like

    • It’s so annoying when that happens! Mine seem to come good again after they have dried out from either my sweat or the rain (so lucky!). Every time it happens I think it will be the last time I take them out but they keep amazing me and continue to work. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

