recovery

Taken with Lumia Selfie

Recovery is super important when it comes to running. You have to listen to your body and know when to rest. The rest give your muscles a chance to build and when it comes time to do speed work you will be able to complete it easier. I don’t have the luxury to have a day of rest because of the challenge but I can run the 3 km slow to give my legs a break. It was a hot run because today was 36 °C and instead of going out late to beat the heat I had to run earlier.  According to the news, a massive, once-in-a-decade summer storm is coming. Naturally, I wanted to do my run before the storm. I’m a runner, not a swimmer!

  • Distance: 3.50 km
  • Time: 25:12
  • Max heart rate: 185 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 171 bpm

My legs feel tight tonight but I think that’s because I have been doing some long hill runs. I walked for another 32 minutes after the 3.50 km to try and loosen my legs. I hope today is just what they needed.

Happy running – Melissa

2 thoughts on “recovery

  1. You’re very inspiring sister. Getting out in the heat. You’ll get more of a tan than I have :p
    Once in a decade storm is it? I donno, we seem to be having them every week now.
    Maybe I should charge my phone…

    Keep running! Can’t wait for Feb, it’s going to be great. 😀 Yay!

    Like

    • Thanks Kylie 😀 you’re so encouraging. Thanks for always reading my blog 🙂 And yes you probably should charge your phone! They reckon the power will go out tonight at some point 🙂 we are totally always having storms!

      Looking forward to Feb too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

