slow and steady

 

Taken with Lumia Selfie

Shout out to my sister-in-law, Annie. We locked eyes tonight as I ran past the shop she works at. If I ever see her in the shop working, I always wave my hands like crazy at her as I whizz past.

I love running so much. Had an awesome run tonight and even though I have showered and now in my pj’s, I’m ready to get back out and hit the road. My plan for tonight’s run was to go slow and long. I did 10 km in a much slower time than I would on race day but it felt so good just to forget about making pace and to enjoy the km’s. I wanted to go further and I could have but it was getting late and I thought my hubby might worry soon. It was a beautiful 23 °C, a little bit of a breeze and zero traffic on the roads. There were a few bugs and I did swallow a moth, but its part of the experience. You should have seen the sweat coming off me tonight! I love long slow runs.

  • Distance: 10 km
  • Time: 01:11:39
  • Max heart rate: 194 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 176 bpm

Looking over my splits, my fastest km was number 8 which is good to know because I still felt awesome at that point and had more fuel in the tank. My pace was consistent even though I was slow but I was trying to be slow tonight. Every week I have to have a slow long run, it’s part of the plan. Feeling on a high!

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

