for the love of running

 

Taken with Lumia Selfie

Did a little hill running today. I did the first 3 km up a hill and then 2.5 km down. All up: a comfortable 5.5 km. It wasn’t my fastest time for that distance but that will always happen when hill running. I enjoy hills because what goes up must come down and I love running down. You might notice I’m wearing a hot pink top in my selfie. Not my first choice but Sunday is washing day for my usual running gear, and that means wearing whatever else I have that will do the trick.

  • Distance: 5.5 km
  • Time: 34:20
  • Max heart rate: 199 bpm
  • Average heart rate: 171 bpm

After running 5 km at a pretty fast pace I decided to slow up my running and enjoy the last 500 meters. As I was running I was thinking to myself ‘I really love running’. In that moment I remembered exactly why I love to run. It’s exhilarating and the more you run the more you want to run. As I was contemplating all this, a fit young man (probably a football player) in tiny shorts ran past me. He wasn’t huffing or puffing or breaking a sweat, yet in a matter of seconds he was 500 meters in front of me. That popped my “love of running” bubble a little, but it reminded me that everyone is different when it comes to running.  Always run your own race.

Happy running – Melissa

2 thoughts on “for the love of running

  1. Hi Mel,
    wow – you are an inspiration..every day determination in action to achieve your goal. It must be an exhilarating feeling – running – which is also a good motivator. Proud of you.

    Vanessa – Mum

    Like

Leave a Reply

