hill run

 

Taken with Lumia Selfie

I felt much better today so I decided it was time to try and do some hill running. Actually, when I went out I had in mind just to try and run 3km since I am just getting over a virus but as I was running I felt pretty good so I decided to take a turn a go up hill.

I’m really lucky with my running options around where I live. On one side of my home it is flat streets as far as the eye can see, on the other side are some nice hills for going up and down. I recently lost a toenail with my hill running which I’m quite proud of. It’s like a running trophy.

Today I ran 5km, which ended up being pretty much all up hill. I will work back up to my long runs soon, but for now it’s great to have done a hill run. They are really important for runners to help build muscle and endurance. I love that after doing a few hill runs, running on flat streets feels heaps easier (we say “heaps” heaps in SA).

  • Distance: 5km
  • Time:
    • 3km: 22:23
    • 5km: 37:50
  • Average heart rate: 151 bpm
  • Max heart rate: 191 bpm

A slow 3km but I was going up hill so it’s to be expected.

You may have noticed from my selfie that it looks like a sunset and I said in my challenge post that I would run in the mornings. I haven’t got there quite yet since I’ve needed the sleep for recovery, but now I am feeling better it is my next goal. They say it takes a month to make something a habit so here is hoping this time next month I will be in love with morning running. I have always found night runs to be my thing because I feel hidden in the low light and no one can see my funny running form and tomato cheeks. Also, it’s cooler and I am a night person. I’ll see how it goes tomorrow.

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

