first run of the year

Taken with Lumia Selfie

Happy new year everyone, just 364 days to go!

I never expected my first run to be so hard. I woke up feeling pretty average and as the day went on I just felt worse, maybe something I ate yesterday. Whatever it was, it was not agreeing with my tummy and I’ve been feeling like throwing up most of the day.  But I said I would do this challenge no matter what, even when feeling unwell.

I waited to run till late afternoon hoping the sick feeling would go away but it didn’t so I just had to go. I haven’t been able to eat much so I was low on energy while running. It was my slowest 3 km I have ever run but that’s running; you have good runs and bad runs. You must learn from each run and take it easier when your body is telling you to.

My stats today are terrible but I like to think that it just gives me a lot of room for improvement since today is the first run.

  • Distance: 3 km
  • Time: 23:05
  • Max heart rate: 203 bpm

Like I said, a terrible run. I would have liked to go a lot further than 3 km . My heart rate was high even though I was going slow which makes me think I really wasn’t well today. It’s ok, it can only get better from here. I’m proud of myself for going out and starting my challenge! Who would have thought I would be so sick on the first day of my challenge, unlucky!

 

Happy running – Melissa

Leave a Reply

