this is the plan

Here’s my plan.

The year of 2017 is going to be the year I complete 365 days running, running at least 3 km every single day. It sounds crazy, but it’s something I can and want to achieve. Today is December 28 so I have 3 days before I start running on the 1st of January 2017.

I am writing this blog as my running journal to keep me motivated and accountable. Therefore, as well
as running 3km every day I will:

  1. I plan to keep track of my statistics and personal records and update them regularly.
  2. I also plan to enter running events/races. I’m not sure what events there are in my region but I will keep my eye out. My first race of the year is a 10 km on the 5th of February.
  3. I will become a MORNING runner! I want to get up early and see the sunrise. I’ve always done my running in the afternoon or night so changing my routine will be another challenge for me.

I have been running on and off for the last year and I love it. My dad is heavily into running and he is my running buddy and inspiration. We don’t get to run together but we talk about it all the time and it’s great to share a love of running with someone. I want to get serious about running so I believe this challenge is perfect for me. I want the discipline, the races, the experiences and fitness that comes with running.

I don’t want anyone to think I am doing this to get skinny, that is so far from the truth. I want to eat what my body needs and run what my body can as a challenge. I want to feel strong and empowered, feel like I can do anything I put my mind too with the help of my Lord.

My greatest desire with this challenge is to bring glory to God with my running. That must sound so silly to others but when I run it is about giving thanks to my Lord for my body and the ability to run. When I run, I pray and it is my quiet alone time with God. I’m so grateful for that.

I am excited about this challenge and I hope my motivation, fitness and family can keep up with it. I can’t wait to see where it will lead and how the year will work out. I know it will be a lot of early mornings, tired study nights, pushing through runs when I am unwell or with a headache, sore body parts and a whole lot of fun!
Let Mel’s 365 days of running begin!

One thought on “this is the plan

  1. Pingback: hill run | 365 days of running

Leave a Reply

